Table 1

The five key domains for CQC Inspections

SafePatients are protected from abuse and avoidable harm
EffectiveCare, treatment and support achieves good outcomes, helps patients to maintain quality of life and is based on the best available evidence
CaringStaff involve and treat patients with compassion, kindness, dignity and respect
ResponsiveServices are organised so that they meet patients’ needs
Well-ledThe leadership, management and governance of the organisation make sure it’s providing high-quality care that is based around the individual needs, that it encourages learning and innovation, and that it promotes an open and fair culture
  • Adapted from: CQC. The five key questions we ask.36

  • CQC, Care Quality Commission.