## Risk of bias

Study	Sequence generation	Allocation concea- lment	Blinding of participants/ personnel	Blinding of outcome assessors	Incomplete outcome data	Selective outcome reporting	Other risk of bias
Abaza 2017	©	<b>©</b>	8	<b>©</b>	8	©	<b>©</b>
Abdulrhman 2013	©	<u></u>	8	$\odot$	<b>©</b>	8	$\odot$
Adibe 2013	©	$\odot$	8	8	8	<u></u>	<b>©</b>
Adjei 2015		<u></u>	8	$\odot$	©	<u></u>	8
Ali 2019		<u></u>	8		<u> </u>	<u></u>	8
Amendezo 2017		<u> </u>	8	<b>©</b>	8	<u>©</u>	8
Anderson 2001		<u></u>	©	$\odot$	<u> </u>	<u></u>	<b>©</b>
Anyanwu 2016	$\odot$	<u></u>	8		8	<u></u>	<b>©</b>
Ashoush 2016	©	<b>©</b>	8	<u></u>	©	<u> </u>	<b>©</b>
Asuako 2017	<u></u>	<b>©</b>	8	<u> </u>	©	<u></u>	8
Beyuo 2015		©	8	<u> </u>	8	8	8
Chraibi 2017		<u> </u>	8	<u> </u>	8	<u>©</u>	8
Debussche 2018	©	<u></u>	8	<u> </u>	©	<u>©</u>	
Distiller 2014		<u></u>	8	<u> </u>	8	<u> </u>	
Elbarbary 2016		<u></u>	8		8	<u></u>	8
Elbarbary 2018	<b>©</b>	<b>©</b>	$\odot$	<u></u>	<b>©</b>	<b>©</b>	$\odot$
Elbarbary 2020	©	$\odot$	©	$\odot$	©	8	<u> </u>
El Gayar 2019	©	$\odot$	©	$\odot$	<u> </u>	<u></u>	8
El-Haggar 2015	$\odot$	<u></u>	8	<u></u>	$\odot$	<u></u>	8
El-Makaky 2020		$\odot$	8	$\odot$	©	<u></u>	<u> </u>
El-Shamy 2018	8	8	<u> </u>		©	<u></u>	<b>©</b>
El-Sharkawy 2016	©	$\odot$	©	$\odot$	©	©	8
El-Sheikh 2019	$\odot$	<u></u>	8	<u></u>	8	<u></u>	8
Embaby 2016	$\odot$	<u></u>	8	<u></u>	8	<u> </u>	8
Essien 2017	<b>©</b>	<b>©</b>	<u></u>	<b>©</b>	8	<u></u>	<b>©</b>
Fairall 2016	<u></u>	<b>©</b>	<u></u>		©	<b>©</b>	<b>©</b>
Fayehun 2018	<u> </u>	<b>©</b>	8	8	©	<u></u>	<b>©</b>
Ghoneim 2013	<b>©</b>		8			$ \odot $	$\otimes$
Hailu 2018	©		8	$\odot$	8	<u> </u>	8
Ibrahim 2014	<b>©</b>	<u> </u>	8	<u> </u>	8	©	8
Krawinkel 2018	©	<u></u>	8	8	8	©	<u>©</u>

Study	Sequence generation	Allocation concea- lment	Blinding of participants/ personnel	Blinding of outcome assessors	Incomplete outcome data	Selective outcome reporting	Other risk of bias		
Labhardt 2011	<b>©</b>	<b>©</b>	8	<u></u>	<b>©</b>	<u>©</u>	<b>©</b>		
Maharaj 2016	<u> </u>		8	<b>©</b>	<u> </u>	<u></u>	8		
Malek 2015	<u></u>		8		©	<u></u>	<u></u>		
Malipa 2013	<u></u>	<u></u>	8	8	<u> </u>	<u></u>	8		
Mash 2014	<b>©</b>		8	8	8	©	<b>©</b>		
Matter 2020	<b>©</b>	$\odot$	<b>©</b>	<b>©</b>	©	8	©		
Mohamad 2009	<u></u>	<u></u>	8	<u></u>	<u> </u>	<u></u>	8		
Moustafa 2019	<u></u>	<u></u>	8	<u></u>	8	<u></u>	8		
Muchiri 2015	$\odot$	<b>©</b>	8	<b>©</b>	<b>©</b>	<u></u>	8		
Nteleki 2015	8	<u></u>	8	<u></u>	©	<u> </u>	8		
Owolabi 2019	<u></u>	$\odot$	8	<b>©</b>	©	8	8		
Rashad 2017	$\odot$	<b>©</b>	$\odot$	<b>©</b>	8	<u></u>	8		
Ragheb 2020	<b>©</b>	<u></u>	8	8	8	©	©		
RezkAllah 2019	<b>©</b>	$\odot$	8	<b>©</b>	©	©	©		
Saeed 2013	<u></u>	<u></u>	8	8	8	<u></u>	8		
Salem 2010	<u></u>		8	8	<u></u>	<u></u>	8		
Sodipo 2017	<b>©</b>	<u></u>	8	<u></u>	8	<u></u>	©		
Somanah 2012	<u></u>		8		8	8	8		
Steyn 2013	<b>©</b>		8		8	<u></u>	<b>©</b>		
Takenga 2014	<u> </u>		8	<u> </u>	<b>©</b>	$\odot$	8		
Tawfik 2016	<u></u>	©	<b>©</b>	<b>©</b>	8	<u></u>	<b>©</b>		
Thuita 2020	<u></u>	©	8		©	<u></u>	<b>©</b>		
Tsobgny-Tsague 2018	<b>©</b>	<u></u>	8	<b>©</b>	8	<u></u>	©		
Utz 2018	0	©	8	<b>©</b>	©	8	8		
Van der Hoogt 2017			8		8	<u></u>	8		
Van Rooijen 2004	<b>©</b>	<b>©</b>	8	<b>©</b>	<b>©</b>	<u></u>	$\otimes$		
Webb 2015	<u> </u>	<u> </u>	<u> </u>	<b>©</b>	8	<u>©</u>	<u></u>		
Yakoot 2019	<u></u>	<b>©</b>	8	8	<b>©</b>	8	8		
Yan 2014	<u></u>	<u></u>	8	<u></u>	<b>©</b>	<u></u>	8		
©: low, ⊖: unclear, ⊗: high risk of bias									

Supplementary Table 5: Judgements on risk of bias